Villanelle

i don’t see myself in the mirror

shallow eyes hang loosely

cables and wires bulge at my throat

frothing at cracked gates

gasping then, now slowly

i don’t see myself in the mirror

blue and black break

over bones now buried

cables and wires bulge at my throat

ignored hopes slay

the heedless quietly

I don’t see myself in the mirror

Cables and wires bulge at my throat

One thought on “Villanelle

  1. This is one of those poems where I understand the mood of the poem, even if I don’t understand the words themselves. It’s as if you connected a feeling to me through the words- but I don’t know what the words themselves mean. It is therapeutic to read, and probably was therapeutic to write!

Leave a Reply

