Diamond

She said I don’t know
I am beautiful
Shining like a thousand
precious stones as
fractals glimmer, reflecting
images of eyes who try to
discriminate, incriminate and
declare my value.
She said I don’t know
I am strong
As crystals transform
under earth’s pressure
becoming an unbreakable
diamond, thrust to the
surface by explosions of
magma and lava spewing.
She said I don’t know
I am priceless
like diamonds mined on
the eve of a crisis held
in grimy hands soaked
with the marks of labor
carefully, delightfully,
extricating me from the
darkness binding.
She said I don’t know
I am authentic
Never to be mistaken as
fake, or be diminished,
hidden, and shouldn’t
fear the microscope
seeking to pronounce I am
damaged or flawed.
She said I don’t know
I am a diamond,
brilliant and perfectly cut.
Ranked among kings and queens.
Leave a Reply

